Invoice App for Tradesmen: 6 Best UK Apps (2026)

Invoice app for tradesmen: there are three kinds to choose from.

Free invoice makers, accounting software that also sends invoices, and trade apps that turn your quote into the invoice. Some charge per user, some charge one price for the business, and some cap how many invoices you can send.

Below are 6 UK options with their published price, who each one suits, and one honest watch-out each.

Start free

Free plan, no card needed. £14.99 a month flat for the whole business when you need more.

FieldHive bookings full month calendar view
FieldHive app shown on an iPhone
Your whole month, organised

Tap through FieldHive: bookings, quotes, invoices, customers.

Invoicing app cost per year

Entry plan, regular monthly price × 12, as published on 7 October 2026. Pick how many people are in the business.

People on the tools:
FieldHive logoFieldHive£0 free · £180 Business
Zoho Invoice logoZoho Invoice£0 · 500 invoices a year
Xero logoXero£216 Ignite · quotes and 20 invoices
FreeAgent logoFreeAgent£228 · £0 with NatWest, RBS, Ulster Bank or Mettle
Powered Now logoPowered Now£336
Tradify logoTradify£408

6 invoicing apps for UK tradespeople, smallest business first

Every card has the same four parts: who it suits, the published price, what it does for you, and one watch-out.

1

FieldHive

Suits: Sole traders and owner-run firms of up to about 3 people, where you do the quoting, booking and invoicing.

Published price

Free plan · Business £14.99 a month or £144 a year, one price for the whole business.

  • The accepted quote becomes the invoice. Nothing is retyped on the drive home.
  • Unlimited invoices on the free plan, as PDFs with your company logo.
  • Stripe card payments on the free plan: a Pay Now button on every invoice.
  • Xero and QuickBooks sync with CIS on the free plan. The books stay straight without a second login.
  • Deposit invoices, progress claims and automated quote and invoice reminders on Business.
  • Stop paying any time and you keep the free plan. Your quotes and invoices stay yours to export.

Watch-out: One login, for the person who runs the admin: staff don’t get their own accounts. And it syncs with Xero and QuickBooks only, not Sage. If each engineer needs a login or your accountant works in Sage, Tradify will suit you better.

Start free

Free plan, no card needed. £14.99 a month flat for the whole business when you need more.

2

Zoho Invoice

Suits: Sole traders sending fewer than 500 invoices a year who don’t need accounting sync.

Published price

Free: up to 2 users, 3 projects and 500 invoices a year. No paid plan listed.

  • Quotes, invoices, recurring invoices and automated payment reminders at no cost.
  • Card payments through payment gateways, and a self-service customer portal.

Watch-out: It carries “Powered by Zoho Invoice” branding, and if a user is inactive for over 180 days their data is deleted. Its pricing page lists Zoho’s own apps (CRM, Analytics, Books) for integration, not Xero or QuickBooks.

3

Xero

Suits: Businesses that want invoicing inside full accounts, or whose accountant already works in Xero.

Published price

Ignite £18, Grow £39, Comprehensive £55 or Ultimate £70 a month.

  • Quotes, invoices and online invoice payments on every plan.
  • Subcontractor CIS calculations on every plan; submitting contractor CIS returns is an optional £5 a month.

Watch-out: Ignite lets you send quotes and 20 invoices. Unlimited invoices start on Grow at £39 a month, so check your volume before you pick a plan.

4

FreeAgent

Suits: Sole traders who want invoicing and their Self Assessment in the same app.

Published price

Sole trader £19 a month (£9.50 for the first 6 months) · free with a NatWest, RBS, Ulster Bank or Mettle business account · 30-day trial.

  • Invoices, estimates and automatic payment reminders, with MTD for Income Tax and Self Assessment.
  • Online payments through Tyl, Stripe, GoCardless and PayPal; CIS invoices and deductions tracked.

Watch-out: Priced by business type: partnerships pay £27 and limited companies £33 a month. The free deal lasts only as long as you keep the qualifying bank account.

5

Powered Now

Suits: UK trades that want forms and certificates in the same app as quotes and invoices.

Published price

Business £28 a month for one user · Professional £32 and Premium £40 per user a month · 14-day trial.

  • Forms and certificates built in, from the Professional plan (£32).
  • Pay-now links on invoices and a mobile card reader for payments on site.

Watch-out: The £28 plan is for one user. Teams, Xero and QuickBooks sync, and forms start on Professional (£32 per user); the customer portal is on Premium (£40 per user) only.

6

Tradify

Suits: Small teams of 2 to 10 where each person needs their own login.

Published price

£34, £37 or £44 per user a month · 14-day trial.

  • Xero, Sage and QuickBooks on every plan, including Lite (£34).
  • Built for electrical, plumbing, gas and HVAC work.

Watch-out: The bill grows with every user. No customer portal found on its site; customers get emailed links.

Invoice software for trades, side by side

Entry-plan facts from each vendor's own pricing page. Yearly figures are the regular monthly price × 12.

AppEntry priceFree planPriced by1 person, a year3 people, a yearInvoice limit on entry planAccounting syncCard payments
FieldHive£0, then £14.99/monthYes, no card neededBusiness£0 or £180£180, owner’s login onlyUnlimited invoices (5 active quotes on free)Xero + QuickBooks, with CISStripe, on the free plan
Zoho Invoice£0Yes: 2 usersFree only£0Free plan allows 2 users500 a yearZoho apps listed, not Xero or QuickBooksPayment gateways
Xero£18/month (Ignite)NoPlan£216£216 (Ignite)Quotes and 20 invoicesIs the accounting softwareOnline invoice payments, fees apply
FreeAgent£19/month (sole trader)Free with NatWest, RBS, Ulster Bank or MettleBusiness type£228£228 (sole trader)Not statedIs the accounting softwareTyl, Stripe, GoCardless, PayPal
Powered Now£28/month (1 user)No: 14-day trialUser (Business = 1 user)£336£1,152 (Professional)Not statedXero + QuickBooks from £32 planPay-now links + card reader
Tradify£34/user/monthNo: 14-day trialUser£408£1,224Not statedXero, Sage, QuickBooksStripe
FieldHive
Zoho Invoice
Entry price
£0, then £14.99/month
£0
Free plan
Yes, no card needed
Yes: 2 users
Priced by
Business
Free only
1 person, a year
£0 or £180
£0
3 people, a year
£180, owner’s login only
Free plan allows 2 users
Invoice limit on entry plan
Unlimited invoices (5 active quotes on free)
500 a year
Accounting sync
Xero + QuickBooks, with CIS
Zoho apps listed, not Xero or QuickBooks
Card payments
Stripe, on the free plan
Payment gateways

Sources: fieldhive.com/pricing, zoho.com/uk/invoice/pricing, xero.com/uk/pricing-plans, freeagent.com/pricing, powerednow.com/pricing, tradifyhq.com/en-gb/pricing, checked 7 October 2026. Powered Now feature tiers and Tradify card payments last checked 24 August 2026. Vendors change prices; check before you decide.

Start free

Free plan, no card needed. £14.99 a month flat for the whole business when you need more.

Before you choose an invoicing app

How we compared

Published prices only

We read each vendor’s own UK pricing page on 7 October 2026: entry price, free plan, how they charge, invoice limits, accounting sync and card payments.

QuickBooks and Invoice2go load their prices live in the browser, so we couldn’t record a fixed published figure that day. They’re left off rather than guessed.

No vendor paid to appear. FieldHive is our product, and its watch-out is on its card like everyone else’s.

What to check

How tradespeople choose an invoicing app

  • Check the entry plan for an invoice cap: 500 a year on Zoho Invoice, 20 on Xero Ignite.
  • Check whether the quote becomes the invoice, or you type the job twice.
  • Ask which accounting software your accountant uses: Xero, QuickBooks or Sage.
  • Count who needs a login. Per-user apps multiply the price.
  • Make sure card payments are on the plan you’ll actually pay for.
Two kinds of app

Invoice software or a trade app

Accounting software such as Xero and FreeAgent sends invoices and handles your tax, but the quote and the job are typed in separately. A trade app keeps the quote, the booking and the invoice on one job, then syncs the invoice to your accounts. Plenty of tradespeople run both: the trade app for the work, the accounts app for the books.

Honest limit

When you need more than FieldHive

If staff need their own logins, your accountant works in Sage, or you want bookkeeping and tax returns in the same app, FieldHive isn’t the whole answer. Tradify covers staff logins and Sage. Xero or FreeAgent cover the accounts, and FieldHive syncs its invoices into Xero or QuickBooks.

Invoicing apps: common questions

What is the best invoice app for tradesmen in the UK?

It depends on your invoice volume and who needs a login. If you quote, book and invoice for a firm of up to about 3 people, FieldHive is free with unlimited invoices and £14.99 a month for more. Under 500 invoices a year with nothing to sync, Zoho Invoice is free. For invoicing inside your accounts, Xero or FreeAgent. If each engineer needs a login, Tradify.

Is there a free invoice app for tradesmen?

Yes, two here are free to use. FieldHive’s free plan needs no card and includes unlimited invoices, up to 5 active quotes, Stripe card payments and Xero and QuickBooks sync. Zoho Invoice is free for up to 2 users and 500 invoices a year. FreeAgent is free if you have a NatWest, RBS, Ulster Bank or Mettle business account.

Do I need accounting software as well as an invoicing app?

Usually, unless the invoicing app is your accounting software. Xero and FreeAgent are accounting software that also send invoices. FieldHive, Powered Now and Tradify are trade apps that sync invoices into accounting software; FieldHive syncs to Xero and QuickBooks, with CIS, on the free plan.

Can customers pay my invoices by card?

Yes, on every app here, through different providers. FieldHive puts a Stripe Pay Now button on invoices on the free plan. Powered Now offers pay-now links and a card reader. FreeAgent works with Tyl, Stripe, GoCardless and PayPal. Xero and Zoho Invoice take online invoice payments, and Tradify uses Stripe. The payment provider charges its own fees.

Can my staff use FieldHive?

Not with their own logins. The person who runs the business quotes, books and invoices every job in FieldHive; staff don’t log in, see their own job lists or fill in timesheets. That suits owner-run firms of up to about three people. If each engineer needs an account, Tradify fits better.

Which invoicing apps handle CIS?

FieldHive includes CIS on the free plan and syncs CIS deductions to Xero and QuickBooks. Xero automates subcontractor CIS calculations on every plan, with contractor CIS returns an optional £5 a month. FreeAgent creates CIS invoices and tracks deductions. If you work for contractors, check this before you choose.

One flat price for the whole business.

Start on the free plan, no card needed, with unlimited invoices, Stripe card payments and Xero and QuickBooks sync. Move to £14.99 a month when you need unlimited quotes, deposit invoices, progress claims and automated reminders. Stop paying any time and you keep the free plan, with your quotes and invoices yours to export.

Start free

Free plan, no card needed. £14.99 a month flat for the whole business when you need more.

FieldHive logo
FieldHive brand mark
FieldHive brand mark

Management software built by trade professionals, for trade professionals.

© 2025 Fieldhive Ltd. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy

Terms of Service

Cookie Policy

Company Registration No: 16741717

FieldHive logo
FieldHive brand mark
FieldHive brand mark

Management software built by trade professionals, for trade professionals.

© 2025 Fieldhive Ltd. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy

Terms of Service

Cookie Policy

Company Registration No: 16741717

FieldHive logo
FieldHive brand mark
FieldHive brand mark

Management software built by trade professionals, for trade professionals.

© 2025 Fieldhive Ltd. All rights reserved.

Company Registration No: 16741717

FieldHive logo
FieldHive brand mark
FieldHive brand mark

Management software built by trade professionals, for trade professionals.

Company Registration No: 16741717

© 2025 Fieldhive Ltd. All rights reserved.